Black Widow (2021) | Cast | Story-plot | Movie Review

Black Widow (2021) is an American superhero movie based on Marvel Comics. Black widow featuring Natasha Romanoff (or Black widow), a famous character of Marvel Comics and Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). The film is produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures.

Black Widow (2021) is the 24th film in the MCU. Its runtime is about 134 min. Black widow was officially released on 29th June 2021 worldwide but was released on 9 July 2021 in the United States in theaters and Disney+ with premier access. Initially, It was intended to release in the month of May 2020 but its release date was delayed thrice because of COVID Pandemic.

Cate Shortland is the director of this film. Jac Schaeffer and Ned Benson wrote the story. Eric Pearson wrote the screenplay. The movie budget is $ 200 Million and earned a gross of $ 378.4 Million in the box office.

The story of Black Widow is set after the Civil war but before the Endgame in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Starring Cast

  • Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff
  • Florence Pugh as Yelena Belova
  • David Harbour as Alexei
  • Rachel Weisz as Melina
  • Olga Kurylenko as Antonia
  • Ray Winstone as Dreykov

Supporting Cast

  • O-T Fagbenle as Mason
  • Ever Anderson as Young Natasha
  • Violet McGraw as Young Yelena
  • William Hurt as Secretary Ross
  • Ryan Kiera Armstrong as Young Antonia
  • Liani Samuel as Lerato
  • Michelle Lee as Oksana
  • Lewis Young as Scientist Morocco 1
  • C.C. Smiff as Scientist Morocco 2
  • Nanna Blondell as Ingrid
  • Simona Zivkovska as Widow 
  • Erin Jamesonc as Widow


Initially, Alexandre Desplat was the music composer for composing the background score. But later he was replaced by Lorne Balfe. Lorne Balfe’s soundtracks were officially released by Marvel music and Hollywood Record on 9 June 2021.

The film director wanted Russian-style music that is perfectly given by Lorne Balfe. The vision of the director is really good and that is easily felt in the film. The film’s background is revolving around emotions and trying to tie you in the same emotions as Romanoff and Yelena felt in the movie.

The movie doesn’t have any visual effects as other Marvel movies have but still, the sound effects in action scenes are justified. The background choiring is the specialty of the film score. Lorne Balfe has done an amazing job. 


After the civil war, the Avengers get separated. Natasha Romanoff is now leaving with multiple IDs. But later encounters an enemy (Taskmaster) who is seeking some neurochemical. Natasha somehow manages to fight but the taskmaster reads her fighting style and executes them on her. It is difficult for Natasha to fight with Taskmaster so he manages to escape from there.

Now, she will explore her dark pasts. She finds her sister (Yelena) who is very emotional about her false family drama in her childhood. Yelena wants to live a normal life. She tells her about a mission in which she had to kill Dreykov’s daughter. But whether her daughter was alive or not is unsure.

Later in the story, both the chemical, Taskmaster and Dreykov contact their false parents. Their false dad Alexei doesn’t know about the Red room and Dreykov’s plan. They reach her false mother who is a special scientist and agent of Dreykov. Natasha’s emotion makes them realize the mistakes and she exposes that she really loves the false family as true. Together they plan to reach Red room and Dreykov’s plan.

He wants to create a big army of Widows (controlled by him as puppets) and use them against all nations. Natasha also came to know that her daughter is alive but neurochemically controlled by him. She is nobody but the taskmaster herself. 

Natasha manages to fail his plan with the help of her false mother Melina and destroy the red room. She eventually made Antonia (Taskmaster) who suffered a lot because of her.

Now, her false family has really become his family. Later on, Natasha moves on to try to tie up the Avengers again.

Post Credit Scene 

In the post-credit scene that is plotted after the Endgame (and death of Natasha because of sacrifice to gain soul stone). When Yelena comes to her (Natasha) for remembrance but a lady comes and tells her that Hawkeye was the one who killed her.

Review (4/5)

The movie is marvelous. The movie has emotions, action sequences, thrillers, and hidden stories. Marvel gives an overall packed everything. The good direction of the movie resolves the problem of a complex story with different timelines. Yet, the movie is not exploring her past fully but it gives some glances at her childhood only. 

The creators tried to add humor to the character of Alexei but actually, they failed but still, it wouldn’t affect the movie. The action sequences are amazing and overall give an amazing experience of thriller-type action.

The performance of Scarlett Johnson and Florence Pugh is epic. Their emotions and action sequences together as sisters are really impactful.

Read more for Avatar 2…

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top